In broad daylight

“A students isn’t above his teacher,” said Jesus to the disciples, “and an employee isn’t above his employer. It’s enough for students to be like their teachers, and employees to be like their employers. And if the head of the house has been called prince of the demons, how much more likely is it be that the members of his household will be described like that?

“Don’t be afraid of such people, for there is nothing concealed that won’t be disclosed, and nothing that’s hidden that won’t be revealed. What I tell you in the darkness, declare in broad daylight: what’s whispered in your ear, shout from the rooftops!

“Don’t be afraid of those can kill the body, but can’t hurt the soul. Rather, fear him who can destroy both body and soul in hell. Two sparrows are sold for a penny, aren’t they? But not a single one of them falls to the ground without your Father. And even the very hairs of your head are all numbered. So don’t be afraid – you’re worth more than a great many sparrows!

“Whoever acknowledges me before others, I will also acknowledge before my Father in heaven. But whoever denies me before others, I will also deny before my Father in heaven.

“Don’t imagine that I’ve come to bring peace to the earth. No, I haven’t come to bring peace, but a sword. For I’ve come to set a man against his father, a daughter against her mother, a daughter-in-law against her mother-in-law, and a man’s enemies will be those of his own household.

“Anyone who loves his father or mother more than me is not worthy of me. And anyone who loves his son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me. And anyone who doesn’t take up his cross and follow me is not worthy of me. Whoever finds his life will lose it. But whoever loses his life for my sake will find it.

“Whoever welcomes you welcomes me, and whoever welcomes me welcomes the one who sent me. Whoever welcomes a prophet because he’s a prophet, will receive a prophet’s reward. And whoever welcomes an honourable man because he’s an honourable man, will receive an honourable man’s reward. And if anyone gives even a cup of cold water to one of these little ones because he follows me, he’ll never lose his reward.”

Matthew

This entry was posted in Books, Life, Literature, Love and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Would you like to leave a comment? Or do you perhaps have a question?

