Hearts and minds

The main point of what we’ve been discussing is: we have a high priest who sits at the right hand of the throne of the Majesty in heaven. He ministers in the sanctuary, the true tabernacle, that was established by the Lord and not by human hands.

Since every high priest is appointed to offer gifts and sacrifices, it was necessary that our high priest should make an offering, too. If he were here on earth, his services would not be needed, because there are already priests who offer the gifts required by the law. But they serve in a system of worship that’s only a copy – a mere shadow – of the real one that’s in heaven. For when Moses was preparing to build the tabernacle, God said: “Be sure that you make everything according to the pattern shown to you on the mountain.”

But now the ministry that Jesus has been given as is much superior to the old priesthood as the new covenant is superior to the old, because it’s on better promises.

If the first covenant had been without fault, there wouldn’t have been any need to replace it. But God found fault with the people and said: “The day is coming, says the Lord, when I will make a new covenant with the people of Israel and Judah. This covenant will not be like the one I made with their ancestors when I took them by the hand and led them out of the land of Egypt. They did not remain faithful to my covenant, so I turned my back on them, says the Lord. But this is the new covenant I will make with the people of Israel on that day, says the Lord: I will put my laws in their minds, and I will write them upon their hearts. I will be their God, and they will be my people. They will not need to teach their neighbours, nor will they need to tell other people, saying, ‘You should know the Lord.’
For everyone, from the least to the greatest, will know me. For I will forgive their wickedness, and I will remember their sins no more.”

When God speaks of a “new” covenant, it means he has made the first one obsolete. And what is obsolete and out of date will soon disappear.

Anonymous

This entry was posted in Books, Life, Literature, Love and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Would you like to leave a comment? Or do you perhaps have a question?

