At the table

On the first day of the Festival of Unleavened Bread, when it was customary to sacrifice the Passover lamb, Jesus’ disciples asked him, “Where would you like us to prepare the Passover meal for you?”

So Jesus sent two of them into Jerusalem, saying, “As you go into the city, a man carrying a pitcher of water will meet you. Follow him. At the house he enters, say to the owner, ‘The Teacher asks: Where is the guest room where I can eat the Passover meal with my disciples?’ He will take you upstairs to a large room that is already furnished and ready. That is where you should prepare the meal.”

So the two disciples went into the city and found everything just as Jesus had said, and they prepared the Passover meal there.

In the evening, Jesus arrived with the Twelve. While they were at the table, eating, Jesus said, “I tell you the truth, one of you will betray me – one of you who is eating with me.”

Greatly distressed, each one in turn asked him, “Am I the one?”

“It is one of the Twelve,” he said, “one who dips bread into the bowl with me. The Son of Man will go, just as it was written in the Scriptures, but how terrible it will be for that man who betrays him! It would have been better for him if he’d never been born!”

As they were eating, Jesus took the bread and gave thanks for it. Then he broke it in pieces and handed it to his disciples, saying, “Take, eat – this is my body.”

Then he took the cup of wine, and when he had given thanks, he gave it to them, and they all drank from it.

“This is my blood of the new covenant,” he said, “which is poured out for many. I tell you the truth, I will not drink the fruit of the vine again until the day when I shall drink it new in the kingdom of God.”

They then sang a hymn and went out to the Mount of Olives.

“You will all desert me,” said Jesus, “for it is written: ‘I will strike the shepherd, and the sheep will all be scattered.’ But after I am raised from the dead, I will go ahead of you to Galilee and meet you there.”

“Even if everyone else deserts you,” said Peter, “I never will.”

“I tell you the truth,” said Jesus, “this very night, before the rooster crows twice, you will deny three times that you even know me.”

“No!” Peter declared, “Even if I have to die with you, I will never deny you!”

And all the others said the same.

Mark

This entry was posted in Books, Life, Literature, Love and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Would you like to leave a comment? Or do you perhaps have a question?

