A vision: the tree of life

The angel showed me the river of the water of life, clear as crystal, flowing from the throne of God and of the Lamb. It flowed down the centre of the main street of the city.

On each side of the river grew the tree of life, bearing twelve crops of fruit, with a fresh crop each month: and the leaves provided medicine for the healing of the nations.

No longer will there be any curse, for the throne of God and of the Lamb will be in the city and his servants will serve him. They will see his face, and his name will be written on their foreheads. There will be no more night, nor any need for lamps or sun, for the Lord God will give them light. And they will reign for ever and ever.

Then the angel said to me, “Everything you have heard and seen is trustworthy and true. The Lord God, who inspires his prophets, has sent his angel to tell his servants what will happen soon.”

“Look, I am coming soon! Happy are those who obey the words of prophecy written in this book.”

I, John, am the one who heard and saw all these things. And when I had heard and seen them, I fell down to worship at the feet of the angel who showed them to me. But he said, “Don’t do that! I’m a fellow-servant with you and your brothers the prophets, as well as all those who obey the words of this book. Worship God!”

Then he told me, “Don’t seal up the words in this book, for the time is near. Let the one who does wrong continue to do wrong; let the one who is vile continue to be vile; let the one who does right continue to do right; let the one who is pure continue to be pure.”

“Look, I am coming soon! I will bring my reward with me and will repay everyone according to their deeds. I am the Alpha and the Omega, the First and the Last, the Beginning and the End.

“Happy are those who wash their robes, for they will be allowed to pass through the gates of the city and eat the fruit of the tree of life. Outside are the dogs—the deceivers, the immoral, the murderers, the idolaters, and all who live a lie.

“I, Jesus, have sent my angel to give you this message for the churches. I am the Root and Offspring of David, and the bright Morning Star.”

The Spirit and the bride say, “Come!” And let whoever hears this say, “Come!” Let the one who is thirsty come; and let anyone who wishes drink freely of the water of life.

I solemnly declare to everyone who hears the words of prophecy written in this book: if anyone adds anything to what is written here, God will add to that person the plagues described in this book. And if anyone removes any of the words from this book of prophecy, God will remove that person’s share in the tree of life and in the Holy City, which are described in this book.

He who is the faithful witness says, “Yes, I am coming soon.”

Amen. Come, Lord Jesus.

The grace of the Lord Jesus be with all God’s people.

John

This entry was posted in Books, Life, Literature, Love and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Would you like to leave a comment? Or do you perhaps have a question?

