Light in the darkness

Some Greeks who were in Jerusalem for the Passover celebrations came up to Philip, who was from Bethsaida in Galilee, and said, “Sir, we wish to see Jesus.” Philip reported this to Andrew, then they both went together tell Jesus of the request.

“Now has come the time for the Son of Man to enter into his glory,” said Jesus. “I tell you the truth, unless a kernel of wheat falls into the soil and dies, it remains alone. But its death will produce many new kernels. The people who love their life in this world will lose it, but those who care nothing about their life in this world will keep it for eternity. And anyone who wants to serve me must follow me, because where I am there also will my servant be. And my Father will honor anyone who serves me.

“Now is my soul troubled. Should I pray, ‘Father, save me from this hour’? But this is the very reason that I came. Father, glorify to your name!”

Then a voice spoke from heaven, saying, “I have already brought glory to my name, and I will do so again.”

When the crowd heard this, some of them thought it was thunder, while others declared that an angel had spoken to him.

Jesus said, “This voice came for your benefit, not mine. Now is the time of judgment for this world. Now the ruler of this world will be thrown out and when I am lifted up from the earth, I will draw all people to myself.” (Jesus said this to indicate how he was going to die.)

Someone in the crowd called out, “We understood from Scripture that the Messiah would live forever. How can you say that the Son of Man will die? Who is this Son of Man?”

“The light will only shine for a little longer,” said Jesus. “Walk in the light while you have it. Don’t let darkness overtake you, because those who walk in darkness can’t see where they are going. Put your trust in the light while you can, the you will become children of light.”

When he had finished speaking to the people, Jesus went away and was hidden from them.

Yet, in spite of all the signs that Jesus had given them, most of the people refused to believe in him. This is exactly what Isaiah the prophet had predicted when he said: “Lord, who has believed our message and to whom has the Lord revealed his arm?”

The people just couldn’t believe, for Isaiah also said, “The Lord has blinded their eyes and hardened their hearts, so that their eyes cannot see and their hearts cannot understand,
and they cannot turn to me and let me heal them.”

Isaiah said this because he saw the future glory of Jesus and spoke out about it. Some Many people did believe in Jesus, however, including many of the Jewish leaders, but they wouldn’t admit it for fear that the Pharisees would expel them from the synagogue. They loved the praise of men rather than the praise that comes from God.

Then Jesus called out, “Whoever believes in me, believes not just in me but also in the one who sent me. For when you look at me, you are also seeing the one who sent me. I have come as a light to this world, so that those who put their trust in me will no longer walk in the dark.

“I judge no one who disobey my words, for I did not come to judge the world but to save it. But there is a judge for all who do reject me and my message. They will be judged on the last day by the truth I have spoken. I don’t speak on my own authority. The Father who sent me has commanded me what to say. His command lead to eternal life, so I say exactly what the Father tells me to say.”

John

This entry was posted in Books, Life, Literature, Love and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Would you like to leave a comment? Or do you perhaps have a question?

