Not alone

Jesus spoke to the people and said, “I am the light of the world. If you follow me, you won’t have to walk in darkness, because you will have the light that leads to life.”

The Pharisees replied, “You are making those claims about yourself! Such testimony is not valid.”

Jesus told them, “These claims are valid even though I make them about myself. For I know where I came from and where I am going, but you don’t know that much about me. You judge me by human standards, but I judge no-one. But if I did, my judgment would be fair because I’m not alone. The Father who sent me is with me. Your own law says that if two people agree about something, their witness is accepted as fact. I’m one witness, and my Father who sent me is the other.”

“Where is your father?” they asked.

Jesus answered, “Since you don’t know who I am, you don’t know who my Father is. If you knew me, you would also know my Father.” Jesus said these things while he was teaching in that section of the Temple known as the Treasury. But he was not arrested, because his time had not yet come.

Later Jesus said to them again, “I’m going away. You will search for me, but you will die in your sins, because you can’t come where I am going.”

The people asked, “Is he planning to commit suicide? What does he mean, ‘You can’t come where I am going’?”

Jesus continued, “You are from below; I’m from above. You belong to this world, but I don’t. That’s why I said that you will die in your sins. Because unless you believe that I am who I claim to be, you will die in your sins.”

“Who are you?” they demanded.

Jesus replied, “Just what I’ve said from the beginning. There’s much I could say in judgment about you, but I won’t mention it now, because I say only what I’ve heard from the one who sent me. And he’s utterly trustworthy.” Yet they still didn’t understand that he was talking to them about his Father.

So Jesus said, “When you’ve lifted up the Son of Man, then you will understand that I am he. I do nothing on my own but say only what the Father taught me. And the one who sent me is with me—he has not deserted me, for I always do what pleases him.”

Then many who heard him say these things believed in him.

John

This entry was posted in Books, Life, Literature, Love and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Would you like to leave a comment? Or do you perhaps have a question?

